The first real cold snap arrives, the shops book up within a week, and a purchase you knew was coming turns into an urgent one. What winter tires cost in Canada is not really the problem. When people buy them is.
The short answer
Winter tires in Canada are required by law only in Quebec, for a set winter period, and on designated British Columbia highways. Elsewhere they are optional. A set of four, with mounting and seasonal storage, commonly runs into the several hundreds of dollars, so the purchase belongs in a monthly set-aside started before the first snowfall.
Winter tires in Canada at a glance
- Legal requirement: Quebec for a set winter period, and designated British Columbia highways. No mandate in most other provinces.
- Fitting extras: mounting, balancing, seasonal storage and disposal fees all sit on top of the tire price.
- Set-aside maths: an $1,100 out-the-door quote is $91.67 a month over 12 months, or $42.31 from each of 26 bi-weekly paycheques.
- Federal rate ceiling: since 1 January 2025 the criminal rate of interest in Canada is 35% APR, replacing a 60% effective annual rate.
- Payday comparison: $650 for 14 days at a province's $14-per-$100 payday cap costs $91. The same $650 over 12 bi-weekly payments at 26% APR costs $43.00.
Where winter tires are required by law
Winter tires are mandatory in Quebec and on designated British Columbia highways only. Rules differ by province and change, so confirm the current position with your provincial or territorial transport authority.
- Quebec requires winter tires on most passenger vehicles for a defined period each winter. The dates are set in law and have been amended before, so check the current period with the Societe de l'assurance automobile du Quebec.
- British Columbia requires winter or approved all-season tires, and in some cases chains, on designated highways during the winter months. DriveBC publishes which routes and dates apply.
- Most other provinces do not mandate winter tires, but that does not make them optional in practice on a highway commute in February.
- In Ontario, auto insurers are required to offer a discount to drivers who use winter tires. Ask your insurer what yours is and what proof they need.
Where a mandate exists, driving without compliant tires can bring a fine and complicate matters after a collision. Where none exists, cold-weather compounds still grip better below roughly seven degrees, which is most of a Canadian winter.
What winter tires cost across Canada
A set of four winter tires with fitting commonly runs into the several hundreds of dollars in Canada. Prices vary by tire size, vehicle, brand tier and shop, so these are broad ranges to plan around, not quotes. Get a written quote for your vehicle before deciding.
- Truck and SUV sizes cost more than a common passenger car's, sometimes considerably more.
- A second set of steel rims adds a few hundred dollars up front. It makes each seasonal swap cheaper and faster, so it often pays for itself over a few winters.
- Mounting and balancing is charged per tire, modest per wheel but adding up across four. The twice-yearly changeover is a small charge if the tires sit on their own rims, more if they must be dismounted each time.
- Seasonal storage at a shop is usually a modest per-season fee. Storing them yourself is free if you have the space.
- Disposal fees and valve stems appear as small line items, so ask for the out-the-door total.
How to make the bill smaller
- Buy early. Late summer and early autumn sales are common, and stock and appointment slots are better before the first snowfall.
- Get quotes from more than one place: independent shops, big-box retailers, and online sellers who ship to a local installer.
- Ask about last season's stock and the tier below the flagship. Tires do not spoil quickly, and mid-range winter tires from established makers usually perform well.
- Check whether the shop offers instalment terms without extra cost. Some retailers do, and terms with no added cost beat borrowing.
Budget for them like a bill, not a surprise
Winter tires are one of the few large car costs you can see coming a year ahead, which makes them suited to a small monthly set-aside.
Divide the expected total by the months until you need them. Say the out-the-door total on your written quote is $1,100, tires, mounting, rims and storage included.
- Over 12 months: $1,100 ÷ 12 = $91.67 a month.
- Over 26 bi-weekly paycheques: $1,100 ÷ 26 = $42.31 a pay.
- From June for an October purchase, five months: $1,100 ÷ 5 = $220.00 a month.
- Saved from June, the money costs $0 in interest. Borrowed in October at 26% APR over 12 bi-weekly payments, it costs $72.76.
The same account can absorb the other costs that cluster in autumn: a battery test, block heater cord, wiper blades and windshield fluid. Arriving in the same month as the tires is what does the damage. The method is set out in building a $500 buffer when your pay is not the same every week.
26% APR on $1,100 does not mean $286 of interest
Multiplying $1,100 by 26% gives $286. That figure is wrong for any loan repaid in instalments, because each payment cuts the balance the rate is charged on. APR is the annualised rate of interest; the cost of borrowing is the dollar total repaid above the amount advanced.
- 12 bi-weekly payments: $97.73 × 12 = $1,172.76. Cost of borrowing $72.76.
- 26 bi-weekly payments: $48.26 × 26 = $1,254.76. Cost of borrowing $154.76.
- Difference: $154.76 − $72.76 = $82.00 for the longer schedule.
- Per $100 advanced: $6.61 against $14.07.
- Share of an $1,100 paycheque: $97.73 is 8.9%, $48.26 is 4.4%.
Both totals sit far below $286, so comparing APRs across Canadian loan offers only works alongside the term and the total cost of borrowing.
A payday advance against an instalment loan on the same $650
A payday advance on $650 costs about twice an instalment loan of the same size, and takes it from one paycheque. Both priced in a province with a payday regime:
- Payday advance, $650 advanced, 14-day term, at the $14-per-$100 cap: $650 ÷ 100 × $14 = $91.
- Due on the next payday: $650 + $91 = $741 in one withdrawal.
- Annualised: 14% over 14 days × (365 ÷ 14) ≈ 365% APR.
- Instalment loan, $650 at 26% APR over 12 bi-weekly payments: $57.75 × 12 = $693.00. Cost of borrowing $43.00.
- Per $100 advanced: $14.00 payday against $6.62 instalment.
- Repaid over 14 days against about 24 weeks, no payment above $57.75.
- Federal ceiling: 35% APR on $650 for 14 days permits $650 × 0.35 × 14 ÷ 365 = $8.73, against the $91 a licensed payday lender may charge in a regime province.
- Two caveats: it compares legal ceilings rather than quoted offers, and a rate ceiling governs interest rather than every charge.
The difference is the term. Under section 347.1 of the Criminal Code a loan counts as a payday loan only where all four conditions hold: $1,500 or less advanced, 62 days or less, a lender licensed in a province with a payday regime, and a cost within that province's cap. Miss one and the 35% criminal rate of interest applies instead. That is why a loan term longer than 62 days matters in Canada, and why payday and instalment loans in Canada differ.
Four lines to read before you sign
Read four lines in any agreement, from a tire retailer or a lender, before signing.
- Amount advanced: the dollar figure that reaches you or the shop, before any fee comes out of it.
- Total cost of borrowing: every dollar above the amount advanced, interest and fees together. If it is not stated in dollars, it is not disclosed.
- Payment schedule: how many payments, how much each, on which dates, and whether those dates land on your paydays.
- Default terms: what a missed or dishonoured payment costs. In provinces with a payday regime that charge on a payday loan is capped at $20.
Interest-free is not fee-free, so retailer instalments get the same four lines. Full walk-through: how to read a Canadian loan agreement line by line.
Red flags when a tire bill becomes a loan offer
- Guaranteed approval or instant approval. Approval depends on verified income and an account in your own name.
- A fee asked for before money is advanced, or no licence, address or complaints process. A legitimate lender takes fees from the loan or the payments, never up front by e-transfer, and the checks are in how to check that a Canadian lender is legitimate.
- A quote called cheapest or best with no dollar total attached.
If you have to cover them before you have saved
Work down the cheaper options first. Ask your employer for an advance on wages you have already earned, which usually costs nothing and never touches your credit file. Ask the retailer whether they offer instalments at no added cost. Ask your credit union about a small-dollar loan, which is generally cheaper than anything sold as fast cash. If tires are one of several bills you cannot cover, book free non-profit credit counselling through a Credit Counselling Canada member agency, or an ACEF office in Quebec, before adding any new payment.
Know where to take a problem. Complaints about a federally regulated bank go to the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada. Complaints about a provincially licensed lender go to your provincial or territorial consumer protection office, which in Quebec is the Office de la protection du consommateur. Errors on a credit file are disputed with Equifax or TransUnion directly.
Only after that does borrowing make sense, and only for an amount you can repay from income already coming in. A short-term loan is the wrong tool for a structural gap between monthly income and monthly costs. The same ladder applies to paying for an unexpected car repair in Canada. Advertising is looser than the law, so understand what no credit check actually means in Canada before comparing offers.
Lendeca, a Canadian co-borrower service for short-term loans, works on amounts of $250 to $1,500 repaid over up to 12 weekly or bi-weekly payments. Every term runs past 62 days, the APR stays consistently below 29%, and administration fees are written into the agreement before signing. To qualify you must be 18 or older, employed and receiving a regular paycheque from a job, hold an active Canadian bank account in your own name, and not be in active bankruptcy or under a consumer proposal. Government and replacement-income benefits do not qualify as income: Employment Insurance, workers-compensation benefits, provincial disability and social assistance are not accepted, however regular the deposits.
Common questions
Are winter tires mandatory in Canada?
Not nationally. Quebec requires them on most passenger vehicles for a set winter period, and British Columbia requires winter or approved tires on designated highways. Confirm current rules with your provincial transport authority.
Are all-season tires good enough?
They are a compromise. Below roughly seven degrees, winter compounds stay softer and grip better. In provinces with a mandate, check that the tire carries the required marking.
Can I buy just two winter tires?
Tire manufacturers and safety bodies advise fitting four. Mixing tire types across axles changes how the car behaves in a skid, and some provincial rules require all four.
Should I put tires on a credit card?
Only if you can clear the balance quickly. Carried month to month, card interest can cost more than a structured plan.
Can I get a loan for winter tires in Canada if I have bad credit?
Often yes. Many short-term lenders in Canada weigh verified employment income and bank history more heavily than a credit score, so a thin or damaged credit file is not automatically a refusal. Expect a higher rate than a credit union charges, and compare the total cost of borrowing in dollars rather than the monthly payment.
What happens if I miss a payment on a small loan in Canada?
A missed payment usually brings a charge from the lender and a separate charge from the bank for the dishonoured debit. On a payday loan in a province with a payday regime, the lender's charge for a dishonoured payment is capped at $20. Contact the lender before the payment date: a rescheduled payment costs less than a returned one.
What is the maximum interest rate a lender can charge in Canada?
Since 1 January 2025 the criminal rate of interest in Canada has been 35% APR, replacing a 60% effective annual rate. Licensed payday loans are exempt under section 347.1 of the Criminal Code and capped instead at $14 per $100 advanced in provinces with a payday regime. Quebec, Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut operate no payday regime.
Can I borrow for tires if my only income is EI or disability benefits?
Not where a lender requires employment income. Employment Insurance, workers-compensation benefits, provincial disability and social assistance are replacement income, and lenders of this type do not count them, however regular the deposits. Free non-profit credit counselling through a Credit Counselling Canada member agency, or an ACEF office in Quebec, is the better first call.
Buy early, get the out-the-door total in writing, and pay from a fund you built rather than a bill you did not plan for. The same principle applies to health costs such as emergency dental work and an unexpected vet bill.

